What Would a Deload Look Like for Me?

ive read around about deloading for injuries, but no two sites and people have the same info.

so if i wanna heal up my sore ass elbows, and i bench 470, what would a deload look like for me?

i squat and deadlift too…but im not interested in those for any deload info yet.
so plz no razzing about that.

Whats your program say to do?

Reduce intensity, volume, or both. Find what works for you. Are you best off cutting out your heavy work for a week and keeping things light? Or does hitting a top set and then skipping your higher-volume assistance work help you more? Honestly, just try it out and find what helps you feel better.

When I deload, I take a week or so completely off from the gym and find something else to do. I like to go wrestle with my old high school wrestling team (I’m a volunteer assistant coach), pull my homemade sled, and do some biking or sprinting as well.

x2 on taking time completely off. I’ve tried to do deload workouts but I always end up training hard/heavy eventually!

Try the deload if you have never done it before. The trick is to write down what your planned deload workout is ahead of time and just stick to it, don’t do anything extra just because you don’t feel the same as a normal workout. Whats your current bench day look like?

kind of off topic but pertinent…when you get back to pressing consider using these if you don’t already

I’m assuming youre elbow is functional and you still bench on it? Def need more details about the injury/pain but if it’s only some painful tendinitis doing some very high rep work would be appropriate.

Some examples are taking 1 set of DB presses with 40-60 based on your strength and repping 1 set to failure. Outside of that you do half the work. if you can press 150lb DBs for X reps then just use 75s for the same reps.

The easiest is doing that. Hit half the weight for the normal reps on all those exercises (based on whatever split you do)