T Nation

What Workout Would You Suggest?

I know you're probably sick of seeing these threads, but hear me out. I'm looking for advice for a new workout. My current philosophy is pick a couple compound lifts and do them as often as possible, making sure weight is going up of course. I am using a derivation of this:

http://www.T-Nation.com/free_online_article/sports_body_training_performance/stripped_down_hypertrophy

I do about 3-5 of these lifts per day about 5x/wk. I need a change of pace I've been using this for 2 or 3 months now (with changes every 3 weeks).

About me, I've been seriously lifting for about 1.5 years. I weight about 175, bf% who knows maybe 15%. I have some pics in my hub if you care to look. lifts:

conventional dead: 396x1
a2g squats: 308x2
incline db press: 93.5x2
barbell shoulder press: 143x5

Goals... Mostly bodybuilding/physique change but I do want to get strong with barbell compound movements so they are a staple of my workouts.

How much weight did you gain following Joel's program?

I like an upper/lower split for guys who can still benefit from 2x/wk frequency and are wanting strength. But that can be changed depending on how often you can train and how much you are willing to eat.

You could also do a set up using those four lifts above as your marker lifts. And then follow up with higher volume assistance lifts for the day.

Some may disagree but I think WS4SB could give you a good base and as you become more advanced switch to something else.

I'd probably do a workout with weights.

DB Flys 10x10 SS Cable Flys
BB curls 20x10
Calf Raises 10x10
Ab Circuit
Than some Cardio to cut up

Pre Workout
Super Pump + Jack3d + Anavar

Post Workout
Protein shake . This must be consumed on the gym floor while discussing the importance of whey protein with at least 3 buddies who all agree that DBOL only cycles get you swole but not too swole.

/doucheness