T Nation

What Workout for Mass?

I'm new to T-Nation and this is my first post. Here's some background info: Since January of this year I've been going to the gym four days a week (Monday, Tuesday, Thursday, and Friday) and eating mostly whole foods. I started doing these things just to 'be healthy' but more importantly, they seriously boost my energy level and productivity. I hadn't really made many gains in size or strength, but I wasn't pursuing those goals at the time.

For a while now I've been thinking that I should make some changes to get more out of my gym time, and put on some mass. Sure I'd like to get stronger, but my primary new goal is to add lean mass to my frame. At the moment I'm 6'1" and weigh about 180 lbs.

So far, from my reading, it seems that I need to increase my caloric intake big time (which is fine by me) but I was wondering what workout you guys would recommend. I really like going to the gym those same 4 days each week because it fits right into my schedule and is a great way to start the day, BUT most of the workouts I've looked at for beginners seem like they call for 3-days per week. Any suggestions?

Thanks,

Joe

tbh honest i have been doing split routines for a while and have not seen any results, so i have decided to go back to a 3 day program as i feel i am still a beginer

But i might be different for you.

Go for the 5x5 program or German volume training and you shoudl put some serious mass on

For mass?

the workout is eat and lift iron

Well it looks like my best options call for 3 days a week… so be it. I’d still like to get some sort of work out on the fourth day (running, swimming, biking, etc…), even if it is low intensity. Assuming I eat enough to compensate for the calories burnt, will this interfere with my body’s ability to put on muscle?

[quote]j-wrecker wrote: