T Nation

What Weight After 12 Months of Training?

Just wondering what you think that someone who trains hard should be able to lift after about a year of training?
I understand it’s dangerous to give numbers as people will then maybe hold themselves back. The obvious answer is as much as possible but what would you regard as respectable after 12 months?

I’ve been training for 10 months now. My current bests are:
Bench - 225 x 2
Squat - 308 x 3
Deadlift - 352 x 1

these are my numbers at the moment.
i weigh 182 pounds at 5’7, i was around 150 when i started lifting.

It depends on :

The training method(s) you utilize
The equipment you have at your disposal
How dedicated you are
What your diet is like
Stress levels
Sleep Habits
Etc…

What is MUCH more important than how much you can lift after X amount of time, is how much MORE you can lift after X amount of time than you could lift beforehand.

for the first 7 months i did full body workouts.
since then ive moved to training indiviual muscles

i train whatever muscle group feels good to train that day. so if my legs are feeling sore from squats then i wont do back that day, i’ll do chest for example.

leg day - squat, lunges, calf raises
chest - bench, incline dumbell presses, dumbell flies
shoulders - military press, overhead dumbell press, arnold press.
back - deadlift, one arm dumbell rows, cable rows
i kinda just squeese bi’s and tri’s in to the end of a session whenever they feel ok to train

I go to my uni gym which is fairly average, but i have everything i need.

When i first started training i’d train about 3 times a week, then after about 6 months it moved up to 4 times. For the past 2 months its been 6 days. I try to train every day and take a rest whenever i have a really busy day so struggle to make it, but this works out to 6 days a week.

Stress is pretty average, i’m a student so don’t really get stressed apart from maybe 2 weeks a year when i have exams.