What Was Your Breakthrough?

I suppose the story for many who lift weights is the same the world over, the newbie gains come nicely but then just peter out. Then a majority I think just plod on and on without really making progress. Some though have an Eureka moment and everything begins to fall into place.

What have been the breakthrough moments in your lifting careers where you changed things around or slaughtered a few sacred cows and then began to really get the best results of your life?

Next monday, when I start EDT. I’ve been tryin to get shredded for way to long. It’s time to get big.

Well, my story is probably like everyone else’s, but I’ll give it a shot.

i started lifting my freshman year in college with my roommates. we lifted in the “old gym” at school that only had crappy machines. of course we only did upper body work.

later that year i started training with some friends from my chem class and they took me to the “new” gym, which contained the free weights. of course we only trained mirror body parts which resulted in shoulder pain after my first two weeks.

the next year i started researching. i tried several different programs, body for life, hardgainer, some program calling for only partial movements, etc. despite this, i remained at 150 pounds with 12" arms.

i tried twenty rep squats, pullovers, low volume programs with no success. my real breakthrough came about my senior year when i found this site.

through this site i discovered the program that really helped me pack on the pounds. Westside for skinny Bastards.

Thanks to that program I went from 165 to 200 lbs with 15" arms. I am benching my bodyweight and I’m close to deadlifting double bodyweight. I know that I’m far from huge but at least I’m that much closer to getting there.

I started lifting when I was 16 and weighed 120 lbs (which was the same weight since I was 12). The first month I gained 10 pounds. Needless to say, I was hooked!