What Types of Supplements Do What?

Okay, I’m going out on a limb and going with the mindset that says “Only the unasked question is the dumb question”. So here it is:

Being a total “simple” person as it relates to my knowledge of sports science. Can someone please simplify what types of supplements do what? For example: What is Creatine used for? What is used for quicker recovery?

I am a studying martial artist and want to improve my overall physical fitness. I know that supplements can help someone like me, but don’t really know what to use and when. Can someone/will someone help??? Sorry for being so damned ignorant!!!

[quote]Cosmic Phoenix wrote:
Okay, I’m going out on a limb and going with the mindset that says “Only the unasked question is the dumb question”. So here it is:

Being a total “simple” person as it relates to my knowledge of sports science. Can someone please simplify what types of supplements do what? For example: What is Creatine used for? What is used for quicker recovery?

I am a studying martial artist and want to improve my overall physical fitness. I know that supplements can help someone like me, but don’t really know what to use and when. Can someone/will someone help??? Sorry for being so damned ignorant!!![/quote]

WAY TO BROAD

But, guessing you are a beginner:

Fish oil caps
multi
both will help with recovery.
Proper nutrition and rest are vital.
After that, supps. are just what they say they are. Supplements.

Protein powders are beneficial for convenience.
ZMA is an excellent supp that aids in sleep and specific mineral intake
Creatine MAY help you get that extra rep or two.
Caffeine may aid in energy and fat loss.