T Nation

What Type of Doctor Do I Need?

I am a newbie who needs a recomendation for a type of doctor to see about a nagging shoulder injury/sprain. I'm sure there are others who have had this type of problem and can help. This injury occured just last fall after starting to work out really for the first time in my life.

I did visit my family doctor and he gave me some anti inflamitory medicine and suggested physical therapy. I did it for a while, and the pain never really went away. Now I would like to see another type of doctor who maybe specializes in this type of treatment. Thanks.

What kind of 'working out' do you think might have caused the problem in the past?

What kind of excercises aggravate the problem presently?

And what was the physical therapy?

The workouts were full body compound movements taken from the HGM series and from TBT training here. I feel the most pain when doing any type of bench press. The physical therapy was mostly shoulder strengthening exercises.

An off the cuff guess is that you need to retract your scapulae when benching, rest for a few weeks until the swelling goes down and work on your lifting form.

This is just my intuitive response based on the mistakes I've made in the past and the mistakes I see people make on a regular basis.

The thing about working on your form is that you are not a good judge because you can't see yourself lifting. Try to get a training partner that knows their stuff or work twice as hard and do it yourself. It's not impossible, but it's hard and you can do it if you put your mind to it.

Good luck.

Also, the physical therapy that your doc reccomended sounds completely appropriate. Don't be lazy, keep it up!

To answer your question, I think you need to see an orthopedist. Orthopedists specialize in muscular/skeletal injuries (of all sorts). You could also see a chiropractor.