What Training Program on TRT?

Here goes a controversial one…

I’ve been on a TRT protocol for about 18 months now.

A lot of training programs are designed for natty lifters, and those who do the whole “1 body part per day” or “each body part once a week” thing.

Is there any programs that are designed for people who recover faster? I’ve been doing strength training for about 3 years, before that just fooled around in the gym. I want to transition into more bodybuilding training, and looking for help on optimizing a training program for bodybuilding based on faster recovery than normal, and not spending 90-120 minutes in the gym every time.

In my opinion the only advantage for somebody on TRT might be that we don’t overtrain as easily and we can cut fat a little longer. Somebody on a steroid cycle is a different story.

It is known that both overtraining and cutting calories lower testosterone to a certain extent. They also induce adrenal fatigue and tire the central nervous system so even though we do take testosterone exogenously we can’t really protect the other hormones in the adrenal system nor the CNS.

That’s why I believe people on TRT should train like the natural lifter that has good genetics or a good hormone panel. An intelligent well rounded training routine should include rest as well.

This is the routine that I’m using at the moment and it took me a couple of years of tweaking it. It is based on 4 days a week and it doesn’t take more than 60 minutes per session.

Screenshot 2020-05-08 at 11.20.08 PM
However I believe a routine is highly individual as nobody is the same. So whatever routine you end up choosing don’t be afraid to tweak it. Just keep in mind that a training routine is very similar to TRT in a sense that it does take at least 6 weeks to adapt to so don’t change them unless you hit a real plateau.

1 Like

Saw your post 7 days old with only one reply, thought I’d share my experiences.