What Track & Field Events?

today was my first day in preseason track and my head coach spoke to use about the different events in track and field. he talked about how some people are’t ment for certain events and should try others. one example he gave us was his nephew who did track when he was in middle school. his nephew wanted to be a sprinter but his coach decided that he should do the 800m.another one was one of his athletes who wanted to be a sprinter but coach put him as a hurdler.

since this is my first year of track i dont really know what events im good at really. i trained before preseason and i dropped my 100m time by 2 seconds. now my 100m time is 15seconds. i know its bad but i think i can make it better. i have’t tried any other events yet.

ever since i decided i was going to do track this year i thought about becoming a sprinter. because i wanted to get faster and i wanted to get the body of a sprinter.but after today i have been thinking about the other events in track and field my coach might put me in. i cant jump very high, im not that strong, and im not really fast,and i hate running long distances.
What ever event coach puts me in i will try my best to train hard so i can become a better athlete.

i am a 6ft 1in 163lb 16 year old boy. with my physique what kind of events do you guys think i should.

this is off topic but can you guys answer this question for me: will running the 400m make me skinnier. today i spoke to this sophmore who ran the 4x400m relay back when he was in middle school and he was great at it. he did’t look that muscular as most of the sprinters i have seen. also a lot of sprinters have told me that the 400m is consideder a long distance event then a sprint.

I never competed in track and field, so I don’t have any experience in that area.