T Nation

What to Major In?

Okay everyone, I have a lot on my mind right now, and I decided to post this to see what some of you think:

I am a student at Ohio State University majoring in Psychology but am unsure of whether i should change my major or not. After transferring to OSU, i didnt work out for 2 months because I was so busy and had no money to buy food etc. But i recently worked out and remembered how much i loved it. for a while there i had actually thought about becoming a personal trainer (prior to transferring to OSU). But when i worked out i realized that working out is what i want to do, so it would make sense to major in something like exercise science.

But the thing is, no matter what i decide to major in, im going to have to put bodybuilding on the backburner. its not like, if i major in exercise science, i will be able to put bodybuilding first. If i like both psychology and bodybuilding, i wont be able to bodybuild hardcore even if i major in exercise science. i think it would be cool to one day own my own gym somewhere, though. Exercise science makes sense based on the fact that i want to keep bodybuilding and want to own my own gym, but at the same time, i would have to put bodybuilding on the backburner no matter what i decide to do.

Im sure someone has been in this situation, so what are your thoughts on this?

Many a trainer have zero formal education, you could definately persue a Psychology degree and still if you wanted become a trainer or own a gym.

Go to school online if you’re able and then you’ll have time to pursue whatever you want.

A psych degree will make you qualified for very little unless you continue your education.

Exercise science will make you an overqualified personal trainer.

99% of the time I don’t buy the “too busy to lift” line. Especially when RPAC is free and open from like 5am to midnight every day.