What to Eat Around Training?

Hey guys,

When uni starts back up again I’ll be training at a local MMA gym a couple times a week. I already plan to eat a decent P+C meal about 1.5 hours before training(tuna and couscous or chicken wraps something like that) and then a solid meal as soon as possible after training. At the moment my goal is to bulk up.

I have two questions:

1. For longer session (two classes strung together so about two hours) what could I have to stop any muscle breakdown? I was thinking a small whey shake between the two classes.

2. The case I can’t have a solid meal right after training, say where I have to drive home and I won’t be eating for about 1.5 hours after training would a small whey+milk shake right after training be a good idea until I get something decent in me?

My background is in Krav Maga, and lessons are less intense and a lot more techniue based, closer to home and rarely last over 1.5 hours so I have never had to worry about this sort of stuff.

Any ideas would be appretiated! Thanks.

I wouldn’t worry too much about losing musclemass during your 2 hour training session, but if you want to get some protein in I’d suggest you try BCAAs, should stay down better than whey shake. If you are bulking up why would you have a small whey shake after training? Just down a big whey shake with carbs and milk if thats what you please, bulking up and 1.5hrs before meal after 2 hrs of training your body should know where to put those calories.

The muscle wasting effects of a 2 hour workout are probably over stated.

Simply staying hydrated, eating well in general, and not getting hurt is likely all you need.

That being said, if you have your diet in order otherwise and are concerned:

BCAA’s are great research/performance wise. The issue is they are very bitter/acitic. I would not be a huge fan of chugging them anytime I am too winded/worked up to drink something heavier. The mixes that taste good tend to be spendy for what you get.