T Nation

What to Drink During Workout?

Hello,

I'm fairly new to lifting weights, but I'm trying hard to get the nutrition part right. When I went to the gym today I started talking to one of the owners and he said that if I was serious about working out I shouldn't be drinking water while in the gym, but rather a Gatorade or some form of protein shake.

I usually have this after the workout. Are you really supposed to drink some form of energy drink while lifting weights?? Sorry if this is a basic questions guys, but my googling was inconclusive.

Thank you,

Daniel

there’s lots of Intra-workout supplements you can drink, My favorite is just simple BCAA’s and complex Carbs. But things like Synthesize and that kind of stuff is meant for during.

Go to the thread “3rd Law of Muscle” in this forum. Otherwise you can mix protein with simple carbs for a workout drink. In my limited experience I see new and enthusiastic lifters often get caught up in the details and lose focus on the fundamentals.

No but seriously, drink water while you’re lifting. There’s nothing wrong with that. If you need a little caffeine before your workout, that helps some people. Gatorade is fine for a during-workout drink. You’re not ‘supposed’ to drink anything during your workout. Do whatever works best for you bro. Gym owners don’t know everything.

[quote]bpeloquin wrote:
No but seriously, drink water while you’re lifting. There’s nothing wrong with that. If you need a little caffeine before your workout, that helps some people. Gatorade is fine for a during-workout drink. You’re not ‘supposed’ to drink anything during your workout. Do whatever works best for you bro. Gym owners don’t know everything. [/quote]

CT says otherwise.

[quote]Rocky2 wrote:
bpeloquin wrote: