T Nation

What Routine Should I Use for PL?

I'm 5'10", a little over 160 lbs, and I'm just getting into powerlifting after years of bodybuilding style training. I'm not sure what my max squat is, but it is increasing quickly. I can deadlift somewhere in the 400-450 range, but my bench is less than 200. maybe 170. I haven't really benched before, just with dumbells.

I started a routine than is mainly in the 8x3 range and I've only been doing it a couple weeks so far, but it seems to be working. However, I have been hearing a lot about starting strength and I'm wondering if I should ditch my current routine and switch over to that. I'm not a beginner in lifting, but I am in powerlifting specifically.

I'm wondering if it might help me make quick beginner benching gains, but I don't know if it would be enough of a workout or if it would be enough for my squat and deadlift. I can provide more specific information if necessary, but I would really appreciate any advice regarding where to go from here because I want to get into powerlifting and I want to maximize any potential gains in my lifts.

Lots of people here have had fantastic results with 5/3/1. I'm just getting into it myself.

I personally did 5/3/1, but it absolutely is slow and you have to hold back all the time. Not for everyone. I switched to west-side conjugate style after 5 months of 5/3/1 and went from a 205x1 to a 260x1 bench in less than 4 months, added more than 100 pounds to deadlift and squat during that time as well.

It may have been premature for me to start conjugate though.

If I had it all to do over again though, I feel like I would have done starting strength. It is progressive overload though, which only takes you so far, or...your CNS simply won't deal with it.

Skip stronglifts, waste of time in my opinion. There's no magic number reps sets like that program claims.