T Nation

What Program to Start with?

Looking for some advice on a beginner program to start for myself. I like the breakdown of the 5/3/1 program but any of your recommendations would help!

Been looking at the following:

• 5/3/1 for Beginners

• 5/3/1 boring but big 3 month challenge

I’ve also read something about 5’s PRO + 5x5 FSL works well for Beginners but can’t seem to find a template of the actual program …

Any experiences with the above programs? Good for beginners?

Appreciate all your help and time!

Don’t start with a challenge workout. Its just that; a challenge. Do 5/3/1 for beginners.

Thanks for your response! How long do you think i should stay on the Beginner 5/3/1 ?

Yeah forget the challenge. Its a miserable program also.

If a total, absolute beginner consider this first…

As long as its working. Then change things only slightly. IMO 531 is so great because it’s so versatile.

I would say i consider myself between a beginner and intermediate. I don’t lift really heavy.

This whole path started 2 years ago. I was 35 years old, 5’8" and 210lbs. I began mostly doing HIIT workouts (cardio and bodyweight exercises) and i lost 45 lbs. I then began doing some strength training (mostly split type workouts … bi’s/back, chest/tri’s, legs, shoulders) and in the 10 months i did it, i went from 165lbs to 175lbs. So i did gain about 10lbs of muscle. Haven’t been strength training for about 4 months now because i had vein surgery and needed to keep my workouts much less intense. I’m good to go now, which is why i’m looking for an actual program to follow …

So, i’m not a “beginner” to strength training, but if i took my 1RM’s into consideration, everyone on this board would probably call me a beginner lol …

With all that being said, do you still recommend a Beginner Routine or anything else i can consider ?

Thanks so much for all your help and time guys, it’s much appreciated!

Do you recommend Beginner 5/3/1 or a different version of 5/3/1 ?