T Nation

What Muscle Groups Should Be Trained Together?

Hello guys I need some help on what muscle groups I should be training together…if anyone can help me on a weekly routine please. I train 5 days a week but really need a good routine of what muscle groups to train together and best days for them thanks in advance

This is like asking what car to buy. All of them can be worked together. You can isolate them totally is you REALLY want (its a bad idea).

What is your training history with recent max efforts, training goals, age, weight and fat (high medium low).
What are your goals? To look pleasing (if so like who) or be strong (if so in what lifts)?

2 Likes

I have been training on and off for 2 years just got back in to it the last few month’s I’m 29 5’8 and 10.5 stone my goal is strength and to build muscle and get to around 12-13 stone

There’s plenty of ways to skin a cat. I think you should just choose a pre written program by a reputable professional that excites you because the reality is that they all work if executed well.

The search function on this site would probably help you avoid most of the Instagram trainers and bullshit out there.

6 Likes

Pretty sure @samul said medial delts are best trained on a Wednesday. No seriously man just do what @dagill2 said. Pick a program you like and work hard.

5 Likes

Well, Wednesday and Thursday are the most medial days of the week so… You have a point

3 Likes

Lots and lots of ways to do this really, if I was a beginner training 5 times a week I’d probably do something like either:

Monday upper body, Tuesday lower body, Thursday upper body, Friday lower body, Saturday abs and cardio.

OR

Monday Lower body quad focus, Tuesday push, Wednesday Pull, Thursday lower body hamstring focus, Friday arms + abs + maybe cardio/circuit training etc.

OR

Monday: Squats & bench press & triceps
Tuesday: Pull ups, biceps rear delts
Wednesday: Deadlifts & OHP/delts & traps, triceps.
Thursday: Rows, biceps & rear delts.