What Kind of Job Could I Find?

I’m 19 with at least 3 years left of college before taking on a masters. I currently work as a dish washer for 8.00 an hour (min wage) and history shows it would be more than 2 years before any kind of raise even if I began training as a cook. I hate my job a solid 70% of the time and don’t think I could do it for much longer.

I don’t think it is standing all day long or the 8-10 hour shifts but being bored out of my mind and knowing it will be years till I make 8.50. I could be a cashier at cvs and make more from day one. I also work the afternoon shift from 3-?? and the half an hour ride home. If I work several days in a row I literally work, go to bed, wake up at 1 then show and go to work.

The biggest highlight of my day is when the cooks are busy and I get to make a pizza.
Ive already missed a nice opportunity not being able to work as a census enumerator (annoying people who knock on your door to fill out the census.) I died a little inside when they broke the news that the only training time was during the end of my college semester. 3+ months of 30 hours a week at 15.50+ .50 cents per mile driven flew out the window and haunted my dreams…they told me when they had called to check I still wanted the job…

So now I’ve recently become more miserable at my job, even though I enjoy working with the people I do. I am a bit nervous to try and get a new job but I know I should.

This is my first “official job” though Ive done many short time jobs, hell Id even go back to moving trash roof shingles during the summer if it meant 17$ an hour instead of dealing with the crap at work. Note: if you have a choice…never take that job.