T Nation

What is Holding the Sport Back?

I have been doing Strongman for a few years now and have seen some great growth for the sport in just that short time. So my question is what is it that is holding back Strongman from exponential growth, more air time on TV, ect? What would it take to elevate Strongman to compete with the likes of CrossFit?

At the top level of crossfit, you have guys that are 5’8 to 6’3" who look incredible and do common everday things. Everyone understands these events are hard to do but they can relate. You open your ye olde phonebook and there are probably 3 high quality boxes within 20 minutes.

Strongman at the top level has guys who start at 6"3" and some that top out at over 200kg. Thor is in the best condition and he looks plump on competition days, only a small number of people want to look like that. The events look cool as fuck but are completely unrelatable. If you want to learn, there is probably going to be one, maybe two facilities if you’re lucky, in your entire town and maybe state.

Lastly the Crossfit world still has the blissful naivety around PEDs where as strongman… lol

Still, it is growing - especially amongst women. As more money and opportunity comes in, it will sort a bunch of these issues out. It will probably start to look less like strongman of today (whatever that is lol)

Also worth noting the Crossfit guys had a plan and a vision from day 1.

Strongman has kinda just evolved from guys who like to carry heavy stuff around.

You can see both Giants Live and Arnold Strongman are trying to put in structures that are maintainable and improve access for the public.

As a crossfitter, I can see a path to the top. Strongman? Until last year it was a total clusterfuc, especially at international level. Who wants to go through that for zero payoff?

These competing organizations will probably kill each other off.

Competitors that look good.