T Nation

What I Want To Be When I Grow Up!

I'm tired, burned out, depressed and not sure what to do anymore.

I've spent the last six years working in Public Relations and related fields after securing my bachelor's in PR from UF. During that time, I've had a lot of experience in the nonprofit arena and been exposed to all areas of PR.

Although I enjoy PR, I don't think it's what I want to do anymore. I would love to continue practicing PR if it was for something I loved (fitness or sports related). But I can't seem to find anything in those areas.

I don't want to be at my current job anymore (handling fund-raising and PR for a nonprofit). I don't like fund-raising, and it's not what I wanted to do. But I took this position as a temporary job when I was laid off earlier in the year. Unfortunately, it hasn't been temporary, as I haven't found anything else even though I've been interviewing for a variety of jobs since February. I even make it to the top three candidates, but then get passed over by someone hired internally, or because I'm overqualified.

I'm sick of it. I don't know what to do anymore. I'm willing to move in order to find work, as there is no reason for me to stay here other than my dad (luckily, he's on his way to being back to normal - post cancer).

I think about going back to school, but the programs I'm interested in (Nuclear Medicine, RN, Cardiopulmonary Tech, Firefighter) require you to take classes all day for six months to two years as part of a 40-hour work week. It's impossible to survive if attending "classes" 40 hours a week. That's already a full-time job. And they don't recommend working during the program. I'm sorry, but I can't just live on loans for two years!!!!