T Nation

What has lifting done for you?

Think back to the time when you hadn’t even touched a weight in your life. Now contrast that with the person you are today. How has lifting weights changed you as a person, how has it changed your life? What positive things has brought? Personally, the primary thing it’s given me is confidence. Building a leaner, more muscular body has simply brought me greatly increased confidence. Confidence in myself with the opposite sex (I’m getting more action [evil grin] ), confidence in my ability to do my job, and confidence to take on challenges that may at first seem to difficult, but know I can achieve them. I now hand the podium over to the T-Folk…

Great topic. I started lifting after losing about 60 pounds. I got down to 159 and realized that being skinny and puny was just as bad as being fat. This was also my first year as a high school teacher. (Being 21 and teaching classes full of 18 year old hotties tends to get ones ass into the gym.) That was about 10 years ago. Since then my bodyfat has dropped and my weight has gone up to about 210. (I fluctuate between 200 and 220 depending on how I’m dieting.) All those years of experimentation and research paid off as I joined the T-mag team back around issue #59. Not long after, I quit teaching and went full time with the mag.

So I guess you could say the whole direction of my life changed because one day I decided to lift weights and watch my diet.

Mark: You hit it on the head…confidence…