T Nation

What Federation Do You Compete In and Why?

I'm sure this has probably been debated a thousand times on here, but I thought I'd post at the risk of reading dated information.

so, What Bodybuilding Federation Do You Compete in and Why?

NPC, they don't drug test.

NANBF, drug tested and has lots of shows in the Midwest

The WNBF (World Natural Bodybuilding Federation). It's the Professional league of the INBF. I had previously competed in the USBF where I was a Pro as well. While the USBF is indeed a well respected federation on the East coast, the WNBF is undoubtedly the largest, most well known, and most stringent in terms of drug testing federation in the world. It is not uncommon to find competitors who fail drug tests in the WNBF or INBF and then simply change federations to one with less (if any) stringent rules regarding their testing, simply pretending that their violation had never occurred.

In terms of respectability, and having truly 'earned it', in my book if you choose to go the tested route, the WNBF is the goal. Anyone on Facebook can see countless "natural pros' with all sorts of different federation acronyms in their profile, but if you were to look at people's lists of the 'best of the best' in the sport, the majority will all be from the WNBF. To me, that's why it means so much. It's like having a degree from a University that produced some great minds. It means something to me to be in the company of those names.

S

Hey Stu - out of curiousity since you do drug tested shows, have you ever done Team Universe? I know they don't test their masters but everything else they do. Also, since turning Pro, do you have any sponsorships.. just wondering as the drug tested guys never seem to land the deals that the open guys do..

Also curious if you have done Team Universe and have ever heard of Ron Nurse?

also, do you add the federation name + pro to your name on facebook