What Exercises to Women and Girls Like to Do?

I coach high school track, and part of that is lifting. The lifting is optional because we have a huge team and I want to really focus on the kids who really are interested in lifting.

I already include the basics that really matter, like squatting, RDLs, Chin-ups, and the important movements.

I want to put something in there that is mostly fun, so that the kids will get into and develop a good attitude towards lifting. For the boys, it’s easy, just do Bi’s and Tri’s and call it the gun show. I have no idea what the girls like to do, so I am looking for some ideas to get them excited about lifting.

Also, I am a male coach, so if it’s all “ass toning” exercises I don’t think I should do that, just because that would look pretty inappropriate.

Any input is appreciated.

Lunges with weights in hand are good for balance, grip, strength, and core development. Also, they build the glutes. Women like them because they build great legs but I notice that they all women will do them without fear of getting bulky, even if I put weigh in their hands. I think lunges are one of the few movements that women are both comfortable and confident doing, but at the same time is something that I would make an athlete do.

I think this is an odd question.

Different women like to do different things. For example, I love squatting, hate lunges, love pullups, hate abs, etc. etc. Another woman would have different preferences, I would imagine.

As a high school coach, shouldn’t the choice of exercises revolve around the sport they play rather than what they might like to do?

[quote]kpsnap wrote:
I think this is an odd question.

Different women like to do different things. For example, I love squatting, hate lunges, love pullups, hate abs, etc. etc. Another woman would have different preferences, I would imagine.