T Nation

What Exactly Should I Be Doing?

Okay, I am sorta new to weight lifting. I am planning on being a cop sometime next year. I want to be strong, not strong as in lifting but strong as in fighting. I don't plan on fighting people, but I need to be able to protect myself. I don't want to get bulky, I want to stay strong and lean. Right now I am 20 years old, 195 pounds (down from 260!) and am 5 foot 10 inches. What sorta work out should I be doing?

Right now I am doing stronglifts 5x5 workout, which is lifting 3 days a week, squatting every day switching between bench press and deadlift. Should I continue to do that? Or should I do something else. I feel that 5x5 will get me bulky, I don't want to get a powerlifters physique. Thanks for reading my wall of text :open_mouth:

My advice would be to begin with the end in mind. I’m in a similar situation… I’ve been a cop with one state here in Australia and I am in the late stages of an application with a police force in another state, so I have prepared for selection twice now.

The first thing you will need to do is be well and truly ready for the required fitness standards of the police service you wish to join. Get the info and know exactly what they will be testing you on. Prepare yourself to a standard WELL BEYOND the minimum, selection is going to be tough and any advantage you can get is one you should exploit. Being super prepared physically will help you to stand out.

I’m not sure exactly what the standards are in your part of the world. I needed to do a 10.1 Beep test (so I trained myself to be able to do a 12 consistently) a 16.9 second modified Illinois agility (so I trained to do a sub-15.9) and a range of other tests specific to local standards and the equipment used here.