What Does It Take To Be Injury-Free?

What does it take to be truly injury-free?

I almost wanted to post this question in the Bigger Stronger Leaner section but I think the question is a bit more, how should I say this, BROAD. I’m talking long term thinking and a philosophy behind it.

Is having good form enough?

Is periodization necessary?

How often can we go balls-to-the-wall?

I do a squat-everyday program. NOT the one advertised on YouTube, but a creation of my own. Maybe they’re similar, I don’t know. I have my idea on a good training program and I follow it. I just began it. I am hoping I don’t get injured because of it because squatting heavy everyday is not exactly ‘easy’ on the joints and muscles. All I really got going for it as far as safety is concerned is that I have lots of experience lifting and my squat form is stellar. And if it helps, I should also mention that I don’t even lift at full capacity yet. I still have two weeks worth of super light lifting, only focusing on mastering proper form.

I wanna stay injury-free, dammit!

Guaranteed way would be live in a bubble until you died. Things like safety and injuries are never guaranteed IMHO. You can minimize risk, but some risk is always there.

4 Likes

Playing it as safe as possible.

I feel like there’s an equal amount of yes’s and no’s to be had with that one.

There’s an argument around here somewhere about that also being a yes and no type of thing

I’d say that’s dependent on the individual as well.

As mentioned:

A different hobby altogether. Because for those who lift in the manner necessary to create progression (ie, to get bigger and/or stronger), injury is inevitable–a when, not an if. By my (very rough and subjective) estimation, the ‘Dose50’ (= the duration of consistent lifting at which 50% of lifters will qualify as injured*) is 5 years, and the Dose90 is 10 years. I would contend that after 20 years of consistent, hard training, 100% of lifters are injured.