What Does 4x5-8 Mean to You?

what does 4x5-8 mean for you? I found a routine and there is for example 4Ã?5-8 bench press What does it mean? How should my workout look like and when should i add weight. Im not a beginner but there are some very different interpretations.

I assume that i should do 4 sets with same weight and when i can complete all 8 reps in all sets i should add weight next workout Right?

[quote]fqqs wrote:
what does 4x5-8 mean for you? I found a routine and there is for example 4Ã??5-8 bench press What does it mean? How should my workout look like and when should i add weight. Im not a beginner but there are some very different interpretations.

I assume that i should do 4 sets with same weight and when i can complete all 8 reps in all sets i should add weight next workout Right?
[/quote]

Generally, yes that’s what it means.

However, there is a better way to approach this, and that is to follow a program that has built in progression so that you don’t have to ask questions about when to add weight to the bar.

Look into such programs like 5/3/1, juggernaut method, texas method, etc.

[quote]fqqs wrote:
Im not a beginner[/quote]
You are very much a beginner.

Very, very much.

That’s not a bad thing whatsoever, but it’s a fact.

Using the same weight for all sets is one method, but the way you describe it, that would’ve just been written as 4x8.

When I talk about or advise X sets in Y-Z rep range, I mean to begin with a weight that lets you get the higher end of reps, and increase the weight as you go as long as you’re still within that rep range.

So to use your example, let’s say I’m doing 4x5-8 on an exercise and my 5RM is 100 pounds.
Set 1 60 pounds. I get 8 reps, pretty easy. Nice warm-up.
Set 2 75 pounds. I get 8 reps, a little tougher.
Set 3 90 pounds. I get 7 reps after a grind, almost failed mid-rep.
Set 4 I could either stay with 90 pounds or I could increase to 95 or 100. It doesn’t matter as long as I get at least 5 reps.