T Nation

What Do You Think of Pre-TRT Test Results?

I talked with the a guy at the my gym and he recommended getting my blood work done and test level checked. I’m 36, 5’10 , 218lbs and I do construction for a living. Been working out steady since October ( I was 250lbs). For one month I ate roughly 1500-2000 calories a day and quit drinking and that alone helped me drop 30 lbs but after 5 weeks I was sick of feeling weak and started eating 200-250 grams of protein a day, 2 bananas and an apple, quinoa, chickpeas and a bunch of chicken breast. It took another 4-6 weeks before I started seeing any strength increases but I noticed I could lift longer before feeling fatigued as soon as I started eating more calories. I’m currently eating 2700-3000+ daily.

I noticed I didn’t see any free t numbers on my test results. I also started eating more fish and 1 cup of almonds a day. Hopefully that helps with my cholesterol. Also 10,000 iu of vitamin d since starting trt at the end of January. I can say that a week after starting trt I felt like I was able to add more weight to my pr’s - maybe just a placebo effect. I definitely noticed libido increase and ease of concentration on tasks. People that know me have noticed some increase in muscularity and lower bf% which may or may not be directly from trt since I’ve only been in on it for a month.

Your T levels were low to start so TRT was probably a good idea. Nothing stands out on your bloodwork. I have low HDL like you(been on TRT over 10years). HDL was low my whole life. TRT made it go a bit lower. Not much you can do about it. Supplement with Niacin possibly? The important part is to look at TRT as a turning point … something cliche like ‘with great power comes great responsibility’ or something like that. It sounds like you have made some positive changes in your life. Make those permanent.