T Nation

What Do You Do for Work?

Might be a thread somewhere for this but I’m curious what everyone does for work. Im a professional auto detailer. I also do side work doing paint correction/scratch removal. Here’s a page that’s sort of a collection of some of my work.

facebook.com/terrysdetailingma

I’m an ophthalmologist–an MD specializing in the medical and surgical management of diseases of the eye and its adjacent/associated structures. In addition to seeing/treating pts myself, I supervise the resident clinic (a ‘resident’ is an MD who is still in training), and teach eye surgery. I also lecture to ophthalmology residents, non-ophthalmology residents, and medical students.

Great work! Some of those cars were really disgusting. That is a talent and a lot of work!!

You have a very impressive list of jobs… sounds interesting and busy! Can I ask why you wanted to be an Ophthalmologist?

I am a steel worker at one of the biggest agricultural tire manufacturer in world, pays good, union job, but we earn every penny. For around 20 years, before I was corrections officer three years, and before that Navy

Well, I went to med school intending to be a physiatrist–someone who assists in rehabilitating disordered movement patterns. (Long story.) But when I did my mandatory week-long rotation in Ophthalmology as a med student, I fell in love with it. The eye is so small, so intricate, and yet so amenable to examination (with the proper equipment).

And cataract surgery is simply amazing! Someone can be functionally blind–unable to work, unable to care for themselves–and after a 5-10 minute surgery they can see 20/20. (It’s not for nothing that some have called cataract surgery ‘the most successful surgical procedure ever devised.’) But operating on the eye is fraught with peril–it’s like playing the game Operation, except if you touch the sides, the person goes blind. I find that the only thing more nerve-racking than doing eye surgery is teaching it.