T Nation

What do People Eat at Work??

My goal is to gain size and strength, and I’m on WS4SB III. I started with an “all-around” program, so WS4SB didn’t kill me right off that bat, and I’ve been hitting that for a few months. I’m in the second week of WS4SB. The lifting is going OK, and I’ve seen some gains so far. I’m 6’3" and about 190 right now, so I need almost 300 grams of protein a day, which is kind of a hard mark to hit because I’m having problems getting enough nutrition at work.

My “before” and “after” work diet looks like this.

Breakfast
-4 egg omelette
-2 scoops whey with BCAAs
-1 cup low fat cottage cheese
-1 piece of fruit (usually apple or some watermelon)
-About 1 cup oatmeal, if I can choke it down. I’m a shitty cook.
-1 cup coffee

Dinner
-As much lean meat as I can stand. Usually grilled chicken or turkey or lean hamburger or salmon. Ie, last night I had two chicken breasts, three turkey brats, and a turkey dog.
-Some kind of veggies, usually asparagus, corn, or broccoli. Usually steamed, unless I can grill it. I make good grilled corn. That’s about all I can cook properly.

Late Night Snack
-Some cottage cheese or a PB&J. Sometimes some cashews. Maybe some leftover meat.

I drink over a gallon of water a day. I don’t take any supps right now, but I’m probably going to start on some creatine next week after a three day business trip.

My problem is eating between the hours of 7:30am and 6:30 pm. I have an office job that forces me to stay near my desk all day, unless I’m traveling which happens about once a month. Its not even 9am right now, and I’m ravenous. Right now, I have a loaf of bread and a jar of reduced fat Jif in my desk, and this is what I eat all day long. I go to the grocery store looking for some more options and all I see is shit. I considered eating yogurt all day long, which sounds ok, but it would get old fast.