T Nation

What Can I Do Without a Gym?

I am a newbie and I really need to get into shape (mostly just losing weight). Is there any way to do this in my home without the use of a gym? The only pieces of “equipment” I own are a pool and a bicycle and it is unlikely I can acquire anything else for a while. Oh, and I’m sorry if there was already a similar post to this one, if so, I couldn’t find it.

Um Vahn there are a ton of exercises you can do without ANY equipment especially for just losing weight. The hard part is finding the motivation to do the exercises. Most importantly though, exercise a good diet!

Look in the article library as well as the forums, but basically to accelerate fat loss you’ll want to do combination exercises (ones that exercise more than just one muscle group) several exercises that utilize your natural body weight are great for fat loss. Jump Squats, Lunges, basically any exercise that concentrates on your core, your entire body will be affected.

There are lots of bodyweight exercises you can perform. The ones mpenix listed as well as every variation of push-up, chair dips, pull-ups on anything that will hold you. This is an interesting video

as well as these

You get the idea. Be creative.

T-Nation doesn’t really do a whole bunch of bodyweight articles, largely because they’re not really efficient for most strength and body composition goals.

That said, Ross Enamait’s work DOES focus on this type of stuff.

That said, lunges, pushups, bodyweight rows, HIIT and a good diet should take you a long way.

Good luck. If you do find something that works and works well, post it. I’d be interested.

Size wise i have come longer with doing pushups 5-6 times a week than i have come by doing all other training programs… even though i was younger at that time… but im training for strenght so that doesnt cut it anymore…

look up some sites on hindu pushups and such stuff… matt furey has alot but hes a fuck up…