T Nation

What Blood Levels of Total T and Free T Do You Shoot For?

I am curious as to what blood levels of Total Testosterone and Free Testosterone everyone prefers. At what blood levels do you feel best, and how many mg/week does it take to get you to that blood level?

I am new to TRT and it seems that around 800 ng/dl of TT is the target for most men. I have also heard elsewhere that most will not start to feel the benefits of testosterone until they get to about 800 ng/dl blood level.

There seems to be less info for establishing a FT number.

The KSman sticky on injection protocols indicates that 800-900 ng/dl is where most ought to be TT.

What has everyone’s experience been?

Thanks.

@tallyho_bitches has this thread I commented on:

I’m going in tomorrow to talk to my doctor and I’m hoping to hit about the same numbers. At 100mg± a week, he’s right at or near 800. I hope I can hit that to near. Mid-upper range of “most” labs.

I stay in the 1100s for total T. I have high SHBG and my free T is usually in the upper 80% of range when I am in the 99% range for Total T

How much test are you dosing weekly?

This is a great question!

I am gonna hang out at the top end of the range for a few weeks to a month to see how I feel here. If I feel awesome, then I probably won’t change anything. But if I feel there’s room for improvement, then I may lower my dose a little and reassess.

I like to stay at the high end of the range, about 1100-1200 just before next injection.

That gives me much more strength than before TRT and also a much better physique. I do not notice any negative effects.