What Am I Doing Wrong?

Hey Ive got a question. I know a good bit about lifting/losing weight, but I’m no expert. I’m trying to lose some weight while retaining my muscle and I’m doing this with my dad who used to lift weights 15 years ago but has stopped and doesnt excercise regularly. he’s 214 and I’m 240, both about 6’. he has more bodyfat as I’m not very fat at this weight. But I figure I have about 15-20lbs to lose to trim up.

I have a 3 day a week total body workout with all compounds, a vertical pull,push, horizontal pull, push, and a thigh and hammy dominant excercise. thats 3x a week, while we do some sprint/interval work 2x a week. theres not much time for cardio, As I work for him doing labor 10 hours a day and he’s the owner so he doesnt do the labor but he’s very busy with clients.

I’m 20 and he’s 47. I have meals divided for 7x a day with about 300-400 calories in each with about a 40-40-20 P-C-F breakdown. we always shoot to have at least 200g of protein while carbs might be a little less. It comes out to like 2300 calories a day, slightly more for me. And its all clean, complex carbs and what not.

Now the problem is he’s lost like 1 lb after a week and a half and Ive lost like 4 and am trimming out well. He does say he feels better, but I’m trying to do this right. We both got CLA, fish oil, creatine, bcaa’s, ZMA, protein (duh), and a non stimulant fat burner(he doesnt like the jitters) a few days ago.

I’m taking HOT-ROX instead. I’m thinking maybe because he just started lifting hes making gains already and thats why the scale hasnt moved. It also could be hes starting creatine and hes packing on some water weight. I’m not really sure. I was hoping on any input, maybe what we could do better or if we are right on track. Thanks.

You’re trying to make an assessment after a week and a half? Give it 5 more and see what happens.