What am I Doing Wrong?

Hello guys,
I am 21 years old and I consider myself a “bodybuilder” in the sense that my only goal in the gym is to increase muscle mass.

I’ve been training for about three years, but I’ve trained really bad most of the time, jumping from program to program and doing nonsense.

I found myself much bigger, even though not that big in general, (from 53, very thin, to 73kg at 1.80m) but very weak (less than two plates on the bench, three in the squat, and 4 in the deadlift).

Even though I considered myself “intermediate” I therefore understood that I was a beginner and stared following the starting strenght (plus some accessory work) in a few months I reached 100kgx5 in the bench, 140x6 in the squat and 160x4 in the deadlift. However, even with a large calorie surplus, I grew very little muscle-wise.
I was wondering if the problem could be: too low volume or too low reps and I wonder how, despite having become a lot stronger, I have barely grown muscularly, and possibly if you advise me to change your approach and some ideas on how to train or some routine with which you have been successful.

Incidentally, I was considering some “old routines” with which thousands of people have had success such as the generic bulking routine of lyle mcdonald, hst, max ot, or dc training, then choosing the one that inspires me the most and following it for a long enough period of time.

I can almost guarantee you are not consistently eating enough of the right foods, especially with not a single mention of diet in your post.

1 Like

Your goal is to be a bodybuilder but you are not eating and training like one.

1 Like

Well, the reason i did not mention my diet Is because i like to keep It simple: keep track of my calorie intake, weigh myself every morning so that i aim to gain .5 kg per week. And eat about 1-1.2g of proteins per Pound.
Anyway if am doing something wrong please tell me.