What Am I Doing Wrong?

Hi,

Ive been training for a little over 2 years now and im now having some real trouble. Im 6’ tall and weigh 245lbs. My main problem is that I recently seem to be getting WEAKER week by week. I follow a 4 day split training of:

Day 1 - back and biceps
Day 2 - thighs and calfs
Day 3 - rest
Day 4 - shoulders
Day 5 - chest and triceps
Day 6 & 7 - rest

My diet is good (wont go into detail) and is approx 4800cal, 400g protein, 550g carbs and 140g of fat. This may seem high but my metabolism is super fast.

Problem - I seem to have been getting weaker and weaker over the past 6 to 8 weeks. For example I was checking my old training diary and a year ago I was benching 190lbs for 7 reps on my final set; I went to the gym last week and benched 160 for 8 reps - considering the weight I have gained I actually cant shift any more weight!?

This problem is right across the spectrum as well all of my exercises are considerably weaker than what I used to lift. I am very weak for my size anyway and havent ever really been able to shift much weight but I have grown; but I know i shouldnt be getting weaker??

Possible causes - All I cant think of is overtraining… This week I have slept over 9 hours a night and I am still yawning and lathargic throguht the day - went to the gym today and could barley shift the 40lb dumbbells for shoulder pressing.

Can anyone help??

Thanks

I usually don’t post responses like this, but I would guess that you just need to ramp up your intensity.

[quote]tartboy wrote:
Hi,

Ive been training for a little over 2 years now and im now having some real trouble. Im 6’ tall and weigh 245lbs. My main problem is that I recently seem to be getting WEAKER week by week. I follow a 4 day split training of:

Day 1 - back and biceps
Day 2 - thighs and calfs
Day 3 - rest
Day 4 - shoulders
Day 6 & 7 - rest