T Nation

Westside Questions IV

Okay, looks like it’s time for another Westside thread. As always, this is the place to go to for Westside training info on this board. The key word is “simmonstate”.

Yeah, these support threads seem to be a thing of the past, but I started training westside a couple of months ago, and there are only so many things you can get out of the archives.

That said, my question is about CNS and recovery. I thought I was in shape, but the full westside template proved me wrong. Thank God for Power Drive. I am sleeping 9 hours a night when I can, but some days I just feel like a zombie.

Any powerlifters out there with a tip or two? How long until adjust to the training load?

Well, I am gonna use this as an opportunity to ask a question. What is a good substitution for a chain suspended good morning? Can I just set the pins in a power rack to the desired height? Or do the chains serve a certain purpose? I plan on using this lift as a ME movement in a few weeks. I am new on the Westside, so any help would be great.

Stinky

I bought some lifting chains from a place online for around $60 total. A poster on the rugged forum mentioned something about towing straps being sufficient for suspended movements, I think you could find those at a home depot?

As for the cns question I would think that if you are still feeling overtrained by WS then you may want to re-evaluate you training load, sleep patterns, daily stressors. I know when I started working longer hours I switched to a 3 day rotating template and I generally do 2-3 assist movements max with each session.

Take naps if at all possible and eat more.

You may want to cut down on the volume and gradually add more in. Bob Youngs did this when he first trained at Westside and wrote and article about it.

Check it out, http://elitefts.com/documents/in_the_beginning_by_BobY.htm

Skip your ME day every once in awhile.

Go to the 3 day per week template.