T Nation

Westside/PLing Training Thread

I know quite a few people on this site train using the Westside/conjugated method and/or for powerlifting. It also seems there have been a large number of questions about setting up templates, etc, as of late.

I thought it would be cool to have a thread where people can post training logs (and PRs, of course), as well as ask questions concerning this style of training.

It is very helpful, for me anyway, to look at other lifters' training logs for new ideas. I am by no means an expert on this style of training, and I am not claiming to be. I am hoping to learn a ton from other lifters through this thread, and as a result get stronger.

I'll post my workout for today this evening to kick things off. Hopefully, there will already be some workouts and questions up here by then.

Bear

Sounds like a great idea Mr. Bear.

I just purchased the beginners manual from Dave Tate's company over at http://www.elitefts.com/ and I'm pretty exited. I was in the gym last night establishing a starting point for the program with max lifts and they were:

Deadlift: 380lbs

Bench: 315lbs

Squat: 385lbs

Now I realize that these lifts are pretty pathetic @ 260lbs, however I'm just getting back into lifting heavy. I'm hopefull to have these lifts up by mid june as there is a meet in Flint around that time I would like to enter in. I'd like to drop enough weight to compete in the 242 weight class.

I've also found a GREAT gym in the area that is patroned by powerlifters and is owned/operated by an old school lifter. The guy who owns it is 70 yrs old and still benched 500. The place had chalk all over the place, a big sign on the wall that said "no whining", kinda smalled, and has a dedicated deadlifting platform. It was awesome, I can't wait to start training there.

I'll post how things go on this thread as well.

bigflamer (I feel so wrong referring to someone in that way),