T Nation

Westside for Skinny Bastards for Gaining Size?

I’ve been doing Starting Strength for a while and gained alot of strength, and I also gained a lot of weight, going from 130 lbs to 176 lbs, but alot of this weight was fat.

I want to put on more muscle mass, and I was reccomended WS4SB, but I don’t know if I’m strong enough to do it?

Here are my current stats:

Weight: 176 lbs
Bench: 200 lbs (working sets)
Squat: 255 lbs (working sets)
Deadlift: 305 lbs (working sets)
Weighted Chinups: Bodyweight + 30 lbs

I want to keep getting stronger, but at the same time put on muscle mass, since I’m very skinny and put on very little mass with Starting Strength.

Forgot some info:

Height: 6’3
Overhead Press: 130 lbs (working sets)

Before anyone asks, I eat enough calories to gain weight,(I’ve had no trouble gaining weight) and I eat VERY clean (I haven’t even touched a piece of candy or soda since I started lifting). The reason why I think I put on more fat than muscle is because Starting Strength has very low volume, and focuses mostly on CNS gains rather than muscle gain

What were your lifts when starting Starting Strength? How long have you been on it?

Can you give us an example of a day’s eating?

Have your lifts stalled?

At 6’3" 176lbs, fat would probably be the last word I used to describe you. Your height, weight, and lift numbers also suggest that whatever weight you added was a fair amount of muscle.

Your lifts aren’t bad for a novice, though and if youre up about 46lbs, Starting Strength seems to be doing its job. Additionally, if your lifts are going up, so is your muscle mass.

Personally, if my lifts haven’t stalled, I would stay w/ Starting Strength until I was at least: 200 lbs bw, squatting 315x5x3, deadlifting 365x5, and benching about 225x5x3. From there, you have more of a base to work with.