T Nation

Westside for Raw Lifters?

I have been a student for the WSBB and louie for quite sometime. There is one problem I keep running into is how to program the 3 week blocks and when to have DE vs Rep

@bulldog9899 is strong as shit and experienced, and currently (or very recently) running Westside. Maybe he can help you out, or drop into your log.

1 Like

Reps far from the meet, to build You up. Get muscles from being under the bar longer.

Dynamic efforts close to the meet to build explosivess and technique, and to re-learn to get all the force out really fast.

Here’s a cool chart.

Here’s a guy who used the method for raw lifting talking with two Westside doubters, some useful stuff comes up.

1 Like

In this thread (starting around comment 18-20) tasty Nate talks about his raw powerlifting program. Not exactly “westside,” but with a lot of the ideas worked into a pretty cool lay out.

Just got home going to be looking through everything

When you mean blocks are you meaning the pendulum waves you can run on Dynamic?

I mean 3 block cycles of the main exercise then rotate

If your talking Max effort . You rotate every 1 to 3 weeks depending on how long you see progress until it stalls. Most guys starting out can milk out 3 weeks a more advance guy will rotate every week.

Matt wennings youtube channel (wenning strength) has hours of videos on conjugate method. You can learn how to completely program your own training blocks and never spend a dime. Just gotta be willing to listen, learn, apply.

2 Likes

Just watched some of his stuff and damn, i am fixing my training at the moment but i do disagree with the lower ME. As I squat and DL heavy on different days but still very informational

1 Like

That’s awesome man! Good luck with it. Matt is one of those Westside guys that came out of geared lifting to raw and was successful.