Westside For.... Me

Hi there.

I’m a newbie Powerlifter and started lifting weights 14 moths ago.
Bodyweight is 145lbs, best lifts
319 Squat with Suit, 231bench with shirt and 363 deadlift with suit

I compete in powerlifting meets and of yourse I want to be stronger :slight_smile:

Currently I do a Template in which I bench 2 times and squat/deadlift once a week.
Main Lifts are periodized with 3-8 reps. Assistance Stuff 6-15 reps.
It works somewhat, but I’d really like to try a Westside based template after the next competition.

So I am not sure what to use.

Shpuld I try the standard Westside template, or should I use the Westside for Skinny bastards with a 2nd Leg day as I think I am a beginner and need more basic strength and hypertrophy as well?

If you’re powerlifting, stick with the basic Westside split and tweak as needed.

WS4SB is for athletes who do a lot of running/conditioning. It may help you get bigger and stronger, but the goal is not powerlifting.

Stick with what the powerlifters do if you want to powerlift.

[quote]meddl wrote:
Hi there.

I’m a newbie Powerlifter and started lifting weights 14 moths ago.
Bodyweight is 145lbs, best lifts
319 Squat with Suit, 231bench with shirt and 363 deadlift with suit

I compete in powerlifting meets and of yourse I want to be stronger :slight_smile:

Currently I do a Template in which I bench 2 times and squat/deadlift once a week.
Main Lifts are periodized with 3-8 reps. Assistance Stuff 6-15 reps.
It works somewhat, but I’d really like to try a Westside based template after the next competition.

So I am not sure what to use.

Shpuld I try the standard Westside template, or should I use the Westside for Skinny bastards with a 2nd Leg day as I think I am a beginner and need more basic strength and hypertrophy as well?[/quote]