T Nation

Westside Deadlift Issues

Hey guys,
I recently started training somewhat of a westside style., i do a squat or deadlift max effort lift, each week and a bench press max effort. i tried a deadlift with my regular sumo stance at 70% of my old 1rm to keep my body in sync w/ the form, then did my ME stuff, which consisted of conventional deadlifts off of a platform using chains.

I was able to beat my old ME record on this lift from a couple of weeks ago, but what got me worried is that my sumo stance deadlift felt very difficult. It was very slow and felt heavy particularly starting it in motion. this weight used to feel moderately light. I feel like i may be losing strength. Any thoughts?

Also, I do not do lower body dynamic work, instead I do olympic squats and romanian deadlifts for sets of 4 reps varying up the volume weekly. Also, my other ME lower body lift on the other week has been concentric squats(anderson squats?) from below parallel. I wonder if the ME work I'm doing is too light, like the deadlifts off blocks add up to 385, keep in mind the sumo dls I did I used 405. Also, on rdls I'm working w/ like 275, 285. oly squats using 275.

My deadlift increases by deadlifting. Not by doing ME work on deadlift variations or squat variations. I learned this when I tried the Westside method. It's not made for everyone, just like all programs. find what works for you.

I've gotta switch up my training when I'm finished my meet, too. Westside is not really working well for me at all, and I am experiencing the same things as you...weights that were normally only moderately heavy almost feel like maxes, which is ridiculous. A few months ago I was pulling 275 pretty quickly, and now it feels like it takes an hour to get off the floor.

I don't have an answer for you, but I definitely know how frustrating it is :frowning:

I do 5/3/1 with DE lower body work. So far it's been awesome.