Westside Barbell

Since we have the renegades, HITers, fat fasters and Poliquin and King disciples, I was wondering how many people out there follow the gospel of Louie Simmons and Dave Tate. I personally made the switch from a traditional western periodization type routine to the Westside method about a month ago. Already my lifts are going through the roof. I’m packing on size and strength, not too mention having a lot of fun. Anybody else had similar success and enjoyment since going Westside style?

Hell ya, since i started using the WestSide Method back in 10/21/01, I have added over 125lbs to my deadlift and 40lbs pounds to my bench, which had been stuck for over year and a half.

I’m kinda new around here.

I’ve been powerlifting since I was a freshman in high school about six years ago. My personal best lifts came my senior year, shortly before I reinjured the meniscus in my right knee. I was out of the weight room for a long, long time…
Long story short, I started on the Westside method about a month ago, about four months after I got back into the iron game.
I’m having a lot of fun, even if I don’t have the cash to get my hands on some of Louie Simmons’ more interesting toys, like the reverse hyper, or those rubber bands. I maxed my box squat with a belt yesterday at 345. I’m creeping up on my best suit squat of 425, which fires me up.

I have a question, though, for anyone who cares to answer:

1. In addition to my main workouts, sled pulling (tire and a chain), and supplemental lat work, I do about two hours of high intensity cardio a week in the form of recreation. I have no idea if this is hurting my stregth, as I eat enough to make up for any calories I burn. But would the cortisol increase from the cardio hurt my strength?

Garry