Westside Barbell Style Training Log

Hi everyone,

I’ve been keeping a log elsewhere for a few months now, I’m going to start putting it up on here as well from now on. Here’s a little bit of background:

• I’m 21, a university student in the UK

• I’m a powerlifter. I coach part of my university powerlifting team as well as competing myself.

• At the moment I weigh about 105kg, I have been as high as 112kg in the past (I was quite a bit fatter), and would like to get back to the top end of the 110kg class over the coming months.

• Over the last two years I’ve made two trips out to Westside Barbell. I’ve picked up a lot of knowledge from Louie and the other guys out there, and so I follow a Westside style regime as closely as possible.

I would greatly appreciate any comments / suggestions that anyone has as I go along. My powerlifting training sessions are Monday, Tuesday and Thursday evenings, and Saturday mornings. I will do my best to post within a few hours of my sessions.

I also do intermittent cardio / GPP sessions, details of which I will also put on here.

Matt

Looks like you know your stuff, welcome aboard.

[quote]hammer_man wrote:
Looks like you know your stuff, welcome aboard.[/quote]

Thanks, I hope people find it interesting.

Unfortunately last nights training session had to be cancelled, our gym was closed because of the snow. It’s closed today as well, so it doesn’t look like I’m going to be able to make up for the missed session. Hopefully I’ll be able to post something tomorrow.

07/02/09 (AM) - Dynamic / Repetition Lower Body

The gym was, thankfully, open this morning. It took me about twice as long as usual to cycle there over the ice (a fairly terrifying experience), but in spite of that it was a pretty good session.

• Band Box Squats