T Nation

Westside Barbell Routine - Evaluate Please

Alright, so I am just starting a westside barbell-style routine since I hear such great things about them. I was hoping some people could give me advice, critique my routine as best they could, and add in anything else a new power lifter could learn. I've been lifting for roughly two years now, 16 atm, so I know basics and such, however, I had been lifting more of a bodybuilder style. My Westside Barbell routine is -

Sunday - Max Squat
Squats - work up to a 1RM (9 or 10 sets usually)
Glute Ham Raises - 3 sets of 8
Stiff Legged Deficit Deadlifts - 3 sets of 10-12
Leg Press Calf Press - 3-4 sets of 8-30 reps
Rope Ab Pull Downs - 4 sets of 15
Leg Raises - 3 Sets to Failure (usually around 13)

Monday - Off

Tuesday - Max Effort Bench
Incline Bench - work up to a one rep max. My front delts were quite sore after this, maybe my form was off?
Decline Bench - 3 Sets of 8-12 reps (Westside doesn't recommend but I feel I need more chest work. Might just be my BB instincts lol. If I have any...)
Dumbbell Side Raises - 4 sets of 8-12
Weighted Pull Ups - 5 sets of 5
Barbell Curls - 3 sets of 5-12

Wednesday - Off. However, I am thinking of making it a back day. If I did I wouldn't do anything Tuesday and would add in 3-5 sets on Saturday. Some ppinions on this would be greatly appreciated.

Thursday - Dynamic Lower Body
Speed Box Squats w/ Bands - 10-12 sets of 2 ----> I am unsure of how to gauge my speed on this lift as I have no training partner. Any recommendation would be great. Same goes with the deadlifts and bench later on.
Speed Band Deadlift - 8 sets of 1
Wide Stance GM - 3 sets of 10
Lunges - 2 Sets of 8
Smith Machine Calf Raises - 3-4 sets pyramidding up (optional)
Knee Raises - 3 sets to failure (usually around 20 reps)
Cable Side Bends - 3 sets of 15

Friday - Off

Saturday - Speed Bench
Band Speed Bench Press - 9 sets of 3 with varying grips