Weightlifting and Insecure Friends

So I am an avid gym goer. I’ve been hitting the iron for 6 years in November, ever since i was 15. My friends are in and out of exercising. They usually exercise more when we’re all home from school, such as the summer time. I outweigh one of my buddy’s by 60 lbs of muscle and he struggles to bench 150 for reps, doesn’t do anything else, just “benchin and curlin”. But yet he keeps on insisting he could beat me up in a fight haha.

We’re just playing but he always saying things like, “I could take you down, I need to workout today, I havent worked out in a few days, your not so tough” etc. I usually just laugh and go about my business but it gets annoying. Any of your buddies ever give you shit like this and what do you do about it?

Yes, and it’s fucking annoying. Did you get accused of steroid use yet?

I think one shouldn’t discuss the gym with friends too much, sort of like talking about healthy food all the time or your friends will start to get annoyed…so be sure you’re not doing that.

ALso, look on the bright side…if your friend keeps saying he can take you, that means he may be intimidated by you, I guess.

haha atleast twice per week

There’s also the times when your friends bring up how “big” they used to be.

Is it several friends or just one of them mainly saying they could take you?

Its only one friend

Instigate.

Have you considered the words “come at me bro!” ?

In all seriousness… how good of a ‘friend’ is this? I don’t interact with people that consistently bring negaticity into my life. Not enough hours in the day for that bullshit.

I’m too big for anyone to accuse me of anything…yeah that’s right I’m saying I’m bigger than you and I intimidate my own friends.

[quote]Hallowed wrote:

In all seriousness… how good of a ‘friend’ is this? I don’t interact with people that consistently bring negaticity into my life. Not enough hours in the day for that bullshit.[/quote]

X2