T Nation

Weightlifter

Hey coach I know you where an OLY lifter before becoming a bodybuilder. What were your best lifts?

Anyways I had a question:

Currently I train 3 times per week. Is it a big NO for a weightlifter to do sprinting or running on off days?

Obviously I am not Thib but I have some experience with this. Since you are training only 3 times per week, I would say that including sprinting would not do any harm, and will probably be beneficial. I've noticed that when I improve my work capacity, I lift much better in the weight room. As for moderate-intensity running, as long as you are not running more than 20-25 or so minutes, you should be fine. This is all a different story when training 5-6+ times a week, however. I'm just going on personal experience here.

Im not CT but this is my educated guess...

If weightlifting is anything like the demands of powerlifting, your cardio should be sled pulls if you do any independent gpp training.

I've never weightlifted before but i thought most of the actual GPP/conditioning came from the extremely high frequency workouts. Anyone can clarify?

It depends on the coach's training methodology. Conditioning from Olympic lifting, if done with weights, is normally done with complexes, such as the various Javorek complexes. But you can't say that high frequency workouts can increase one's conditioning. Just look at a Bulgarian training program. They lifted literally ALL DAY, 6-7 days a week, with maximum intensity (i.e. most weight possible) at each session. I wouldn't classify these athletes with good conditioning, however.