T Nation

Weighted Carries for Deadlift

I pull sumo so if I round my back and lose positioning I end up failing or turning 85% 1RM to something looking like 95%.

Am currently pulling both sumo and conventional frequently and practicing better bracing. Have also started to add front squats in but am looking for more.

Would front loaded carries be a good way to get a bigger stronger upper back?

How could this be added to a program without affecting the rest of my lifting or being really taxing on recovery?

How can carries be programmed in effectively?
What equipment should I carry or how should I do carries?

I have limited experience with this kind of stuff, but I found that it is indeed hard to recover from. If your goals are strictly powerlifting then I’m not sure that it will provide any benefit than more specific exercises (deadlift variations, rows).

Some strongman competitors would know more about this than me - @flipcollar @T3hPwnisher @strongmangoals

My quick advice: Why hunt two hares? Focus on just one style of deadlift and constantly refine it. Note that, for example, the Russian lifters almost don’t change the variants of the exercises and are one of the most powerful in the world.
If you are more or less constantly changing the sumo and conventional deadlift, you will not begin the adaptation process. Without adaptation syndrome, there is no progress. This is written, for example, by mentor and sports scientist Zatsiorsky.

My deadlift is pretty strong for my class and have found row variations the best to build a bulletproof back. I’ve never done any sort of carries. Not that they aren’t great, they just aren’t programmed in by my coach.

I’ve also found that a strong core and learning to brace really helps back positioning.

If you’re under the Implement, it’s smashing you the whole time. Yoke is super strenuous, or taxing, so it’s takes more out of you.

Dragging is easier. You’re under “tension” but not getting crushed the whole time.