T Nation

Weight Training For Swimming

Actually for Triathlon.

I am using strength training to increase my Triathlon performance. Doing dead lifts, squats, and BP in rotation four to five times a week in addition to the swim, bike, and run training.

Swimming is my weakest sport. I shouldnt use the term weak since I finished in the top one third of my last triathlon. Considering I am older that 95% of the male competitors I think that is pretty good. But I want to improve my swimming to be as strong as the other two sports.

Should I keep doing the three primary compound lifts or stop diong the BP and do lateral pull downs or high rows instead to improve my swimming?

I was not a competitive swimmer in HS or college so I have no idea what type of weight training swimmers use.

I’m no expert by any means, but pull-ups would be an excellent additional choice of exercise. Both specifically for swimming and just for general athletic performance.

EDIT: And more importantly your current strength training is missing an upper body pulling movement, so neglecting that will lead to imbalances.

make swimming your priority.

The gym will get you stronger, the pool will get you better at swimming.

Triathlon uses a lot of movements. Stick to getting stronger overall and get better in the pool.

As JFG mentioned, you need time in the pool to improve your swimming. I suggest doing a mix of longer distance work and some timed intervals (you will have to work out what is a challenging time but realistic time for your capabilities).

As far as weight training goes, pull ups and core work are the main things for swimming. Most people don’t realise the importance of torso rotation. I would also add Romanian Deadlifts would be useful for running (or at least I found that when I did my first triathlon).

Also have you ever had coaching? Effective coaching can help massivelyfor improving efficiency in the water.

Thanks IW25.