T Nation

Weight Training For Capoeira

I’m studying the afro-brasilian martial art, Capoeira.

I’ve had some trouble in finding an appropriate weight training program to compliment my classes & schedule.

I train capoeira Mon & Wed for 2 hrs, + playing soccer Sun until September.

What program can I implement to improve my capoeira AND body composition while avoiding overtraining?

My diet seems to be in check (31% = 1.5/lb protein, 44% = 2.1/lb carbs, 25% = 0.5/lb fat).

Any help would be appreciated.

[quote]celica_gts_guy wrote:
I train capoeira Mon & Wed for 2 hrs, + playing soccer Sun until September.

What program can I implement to improve my capoeira AND body composition while avoiding overtraining?

My diet seems to be in check (31% = 1.5/lb protein, 44% = 2.1/lb carbs, 25% = 0.5/lb fat). [/quote]

Just so you know, if your protein intake hits 32%, you’re screwed. :wink: Just kidding. I could just never be that accurate in my macronutrient intake.

About your program, it’s going to be tricky. Any serious fat burning/weight training may cause some soreness that’ll make Capoeira less-than-fun. But with proper recovery methods (and that important protein intake), you should adapt fairly quickly.

There are (obviously) a bunch of options, I’ve always like Staley’s stuff, when it comes to blending strength training with the martial artist. Something like this older/classic routine:
http://www.t-nation.com/readTopic.do?id=459309
might fit the bill.

I’st a little tricky to follow, but basically, it’s 3 sessions a week, a little over an hour each (so, something like Tues., Thurs., Sat.) Each day is anchored by a big compound movement trained with strength-building parameters (something like 4x3 or 6x2) and followed up with classic EDT work.

Give the article one or two good read-throughs. Like I said, it’s a little involved, but it’s worthwhile. If that’s too much, you could always just go for:

• Tues.: Deadlift, Push Press 8x3 each