Weight Training and Cardio

Hey! I’m new to T-Nation and have come here to seek advise from knowledgeable people.

I know you guys are busy and don’t like to read long post so I will try to make this short and sweet.

September 06:

After 8 years of being a couch potato and weighing in at 293lbs at 5’10" at age 26 , I decided to do a life style change. (That?s about 100lbs gained since high school 8 years ago)

I started a diet of starving myself and running the first of Sep.06. I lost 43lbs in about 8 weeks. (I was down to 250lbs by Nov.4th)

I was happy with the weight loss but not happy with my strength. It seemed I was getting weaker each week.

I decided to talk to a personal trainer at the gym. He told me losing that much weight that fast and not eating has killed my muscle strength. He gave me some good advise on what I should be eating and how often, but didn’t really tell me how much. He also suggested I take whey protein and Cellmass.

I started a weight lifting schedule along with my running 3 miles a day, 6 times a week on Nov.5th. I ran 1.5 miles before and after my weight training. My max bench when I started was 160lbs. I was benching 245lbs 8 years ago in high school.

I noticed that after 3 weeks of weight training that I was still weak and my bench press max went up only 5lbs(165lbs).

I went to another trainer and he told me to cut the long distance running out and see what happens. Well, 2 weeks later I am able to bench 190lbs.

So my question is:

I weigh in at 230lbs now. I still have a lot of body fat to lose! What kind of cardio should I do (with my weight training)and for how long, and how many days a week should I do it.

I have included a link to a photo of myself for you to get a general idea of what I look like. I took this 2 weeks ago and weighed 237lbs. I want to get rid of the fat and gain muscle at the same time.

Highly suggest you read these two articles before deciding on what type of cardio to follow.