T Nation

Weight Loss versus Muscle Mass

Some stats: I’m 29. I weigh 180 pounds. I’m about 5’ 10"

First off, thanks in advance for reading through my dilemma; I realize that people on these forums probably hear these same topics on a continual basis. I’m just basically looking for advice - I’ve read through most of the articles, and I find the evidence to be relatively inconsistent on these questions; therefore, I’m looking for some recommendations from people with experience.

Here’s the deal: throughout my life, I’ve sort of been on a weight roller coaster. As a teen, I weighed over 230 pounds; then, I graduated from high school, went to the gym, and lost about 60 pounds. Then, when I started my junior and senior year, I shot back up to around 190 pounds. Then, I got married, and I got serious about running and lost a ton of weight; for awhile, I weighed 145 pounds! But - alas - I went to graduate school and gained almost 45 pounds over three years. Recently, I got divorced, and obviously I’m concerned about my appearance now that I’m thinking about dating again; as a result, I’ve gotten back into running and started weight lifting hardcore.