Weight Loss = Loss of Power

I’ve been lifting for 7 years. Always been a fat kid. Gyno from puberty. Got lean in the Army. Tits never went away. Since I got out I got fat again but as I gained weight I got stronger. A lot stronger. Jumped from 265 bench to 340 in 2 years. Hit a wall. Figured I’d take something to help. My dad’s been on for 15 years so I asked him. He told me I had to loose weight or he wouldn’t help me out. I can accept that. Started cardio and diet. Lost about 15 lbs in 3 months and lost 25 off my bench in the same time frame. There has to be a way to loose the weight without dropping power so dramatically. It’s not worth losing the weight to be able to take something to get me back to where I was before I lost the weight… Those gains were tough to get and now gone… Any advice would be much appreciated.

No shit sherlock.

Sounds pretty standard if you ask me. Whenever there’s any amount of weight loss, the lifts that usually get hit the hardest are the bench/overhead press. Just cut calories at a slower pace and you should be good to go.

It’s not dramatic, get over yourself.

2 Likes

That does seem like more than I’d expect especially considering it was over 3 months.

What weight did you start at and how has your training changed?

1 Like

What does your diet look like? Have you been tracking it closely? What does your workout look like?

on what?

So 340 is your all time max correct?

You have to work heavy occasionally while you losing weight to keep up your strength. Working the nervous system works well too, so work speed 50-80% and 90% occasionally.

I think you need a high protein diet. From time to time I read articles saying that high protein, low carb diet maintains muscle while leaning out, including at least one on this site.