Weight Has Stalled

I started training to cut fat in Dec. Since I’ve gone from 254 -229. Size 40waist to 36. I’m 6’4" and in the last month I’ve weighed the same. I’ve stalled between 226-231. I suspect I’m undereating with all the training. I workout 3 times per week and interval cardio 3 times per week.

What is a great suggested calorie per day to continue to lose body fat? I’ve seen many and they are all different.

Thanks.

Are you taking HRX or other thermo? What’s your typical daily diet consist of?

Here is an article that estimates the amount of calories your body can actually metabolize from body fat per day.

mindandmuscle.net/articles/lyle_mcdonald/maximum_fatloss

You’ve seen a lot of different answers to how many calories it takes to continue losing because the answer is different for almost every individual case.

If you’re trying to lose weight and you’re stalling, you can take a week or two to STOP eating below maintenance. Give yourself a treat. Sometimes that gets your metabolism going again.

But usually… if you’re not losing weight, it’s because you’re eating too much. You can always try to create a caloric deficit by doing more stuff (cardio, gpp, etc.) but the easiest way to create a caloric deficit is to eat less.

I like to look at it as a very basic process. You eat which gives you energy. You do stuff which takes away energy. If you’ve got excess energy, you gain weight. If you’ve got an energy deficit, you lose weight. (NOTE: undigested stuff also adds to your weight and your weight fluctuates pretty wildly during the day.)

Working out helps determine the QUALITY of that weight so that you gain muscle and lose fat, but in the end, gaining and losing and staying the same is about how much energy you’re taking in vs. how much you’re expending. How many calories you have to take in to lose weight depends on you and your lifestyle. No one can give you a number that’s anything other than a WAG.

[quote]The Pencil Neck wrote: